有限合伙基金条例

/ 11:01上午/ 博客和新闻/ 0 comments

背景

有限合伙基金条例草案于2020年8月31日生效,从而成为《有限合伙基金条例》(“该条例”)。

该条例的目的是提高香港在资产和财富管理方面的竞争优势,取代香港的基金结构格局,以鼓励在香港成立基金,替代基金业不断变化的需求。替代,私募股权基金(包括风险投资(“ VC”)基金)在投资者中越来越受欢迎,并已成为推动资产和财富管理业务增长的主要动力。私募股权行业将继续发挥关键作用,将资本约会企业,特别是大湾区创新和技术领域的初创企业。

但目前,这些基金结构在公共基金或对冲基金中更受欢迎。同时,以有限合伙制形式建立私募基金(例如私募股权基金)的情况特别普遍。

在香港,大约一个世纪前制定了《有限合伙企业条例》(第37章)(“ LPO”)。它不适合并且不能完全满足作为相对现代的发明的投资资金的需求。例如,LPO没有规定允许资本LPO缺乏这些功能会阻止基金经理使用香港作为私募基金注册的基础。

该条例

有限合伙基金(“ LPF”)制度将是一种注册计划。根据LPF制度有资格注册的基金必须由至少两个合伙人(一个普通合伙人和一个有限合伙人)根据书面协议组成。人,对基金的债务和义务负有无限责任,并且对基金的管理和控制负有最终责任。利益,LPF中的有限合伙人本质上是投资者,他们将没有日常管理权或对LPF所持有基础资产的控制权,因此,他们的责任通常仅限于他们对基金实施的承诺。但是,他们将有权参加规定的/协定的安全港活动。

有限合伙基金将是一种架构为有限合伙制的基金,用于为投资者管理投资。

要让基金有资格注册为有限合伙基金:

  1. 基金必须有一位普通合伙人和至少一位有限合伙人;
  2. 普通合伙人必须是在香港注册成立的股份有限公司,在香港公司注册处注册的非香港公司,有限合伙企业(无论是境内还是境外),有限合伙基金或至少18岁的个人;
  3. 每个有限合伙人必须是个人,公司,合伙企业,非法人团体或任何其他实体;
  4. 资金必须由书面协议(即有限合伙协议)组成;
  5. 基金必须在香港设有注册办事处;
  6. 基金必须有由普通合伙人任命的投资经理来执行日常投资管理指标。投资经理必须是年满18岁的香港居民,香港公司或在公司注册处注册的非香港公司。符合这些条件的普通合伙人可以任命自己为投资经理;
  7. 基金必须由普通合伙人任命一名独立审计师,以每年进行财务报表进行审计;
  8. 基金的普通合伙人必须任命一个人(负责人)执行《反洗钱和反恐怖主义融资条例》(法律第615章)附表2所规定的反洗钱/反恐融资绩效(AMLO),以使有限合伙基金能够达到金融行动工作组设定的标准。负责人必须是授权机构,持牌法人,会计专业人士或法律专业人士;和
  9. 如果普通合伙人由于是另一家有限合伙基金或无法人资格的非香港有限合伙而没有法人资格,则该有限合伙基金必须有一个具有法人资格的授权代表来负责管理和控制有限合伙基金。人员可以成为授权代表:
    • 至少18岁的香港居民;
    • 一家公司;
    • 注册的非香港公司

注册申请必须由注册香港律师事务所或在香港执业的律师代基金提出。申请必须包含以下文件/信息以及指定金额的费用:-

  1. LPF的拟定名称;
  2. 建议的普通合伙人的姓名,地址,身份证号码和签名;
  3. LPF在香港的注册办事处的建议地址;
  4. LPF的拟议投资范围和拟议主要营业地点;
  5. 拟议投资经理的姓名和身分号码;
  6. 拟议负责人的姓名和身分号码;
  7. 拟议的普通合伙人声明和保证该基金拟建立为有限合伙基金并符合资格要求,并承认作出虚假,误导性或欺骗性陈述是犯罪行为;及
  8. 提交申请的律师事务所/律师的姓名和联系方式。

为满足私募基金的运作需要,在遵守本条例规定的规定下,LPF有权就LPF的运营合同合同自由。这些内容包括合伙人的加入和退出,LPF的组织和治理,LPF的投资范围和战略,合伙人的权利和义务,合伙人之间的财务安排,保管安排等。

与在香港经营的其他基金一样,有限合伙基金必须符合《税务条例》(香港法例第112章)第20AM条中“基金”的定义,并受制于《税务条例》的某些豁免条件,有限合伙基金将获免除《税务条例》附表16 C所指明的合资格资产的交易以及与进行合资格交易有关的交易的利得税。至于印花税,适用于有限合伙制的安排将适用于有限合伙制基金。有限合伙基金的权益不是有限合伙基金发行的股票,股票,债券,贷款股票,基金,债券或票据,也不是单位信托计划下的单位。它不属于《印花税条例》(香港法例第117章)第2条所指的“股票”的定义。因此,以有限合伙制基金的权益出资/转让/提取的文书不需缴纳纳印花税。但是,有限合伙基金可以接受其有限合伙协议中规定的现金或实物出资。与应贷税资产(例如香港股票或不动产)转让相关的实物出资将被征收印花税。根据有限合伙协议的条款,也可以将有限合伙基金的利润和资产分配给有限合伙人。应税资产转移给有限合伙人将被征收印花税。

请通过enquiry@sycamorelegal.com.auenquiry@simplify-law.com与我们联系以获取更多信息。

Share and Enjoy !

0Shares
0 0
Share

Leave a Comment

邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
*
*

Limited Partnership Fund Ordinance

/ 11:01 AM/ Blog News/ 0 comments

Background

The Limited Partnership Fund bill will take effect on 31 August 2020, thereby becoming the Limited Partnership Fund Ordinance (“the Ordinance”).

The objective of the Ordinance is to sharpen Hong Kong’s competitive edge on asset and wealth management and to diversify Hong Kong’s fund structures to encourage fund formation in Hong Kong to meet the fund industry’s changing needs. In recent years, PE funds (including venture capital (“VC”) funds) are gaining popularity amongst investors and have become a key impetus to the growth of asset and wealth management business. The PE industry would continue to play a pivotal role in channelling capital into corporates, especially start-ups in the innovation and technology field in the Greater Bay Area.

Currently, a fund may be established in Hong Kong in the form of a unit trust or an open-ended fund company. These fund structures are, however, more popular among public funds or hedge funds. Meanwhile, it is more common for private funds such as PE funds to be established in the form of a limited partnership.

In Hong Kong, our Limited Partnerships Ordinance (Cap. 37) (“LPO”) was enacted about a century ago. It is not tailored to and cannot quite meet the needs of investment funds which are a relatively modern invention. For example, the LPO does not have provisions which allow flexibility in capital contributions and distribution of profits or allow a fund to have the necessary contractual flexibility or provide a straightforward dissolution mechanism. The absence of these features under the LPO discourages fund managers from using Hong Kong as the base for PE fund registration.

The Ordinance

The limited partnership fund (“LPF”) regime will be a registration scheme. A fund qualifying for registration under the LPF regime must be constituted by at least two partners (one general and one limited) under a written agreement. The general partner of an LPF has unlimited liability in respect of the debts and obligations of the fund and ultimate responsibility for the management and control of the fund. On the other hand, the limited partner(s) in an LPF who are essentially investors will not have day-to-day management rights or control over the underlying assets held by the LPF and hence their liability will generally be limited up to the commitment they make to the fund. They, however, will have the right to participate in the prescribed/agreed safe harbour activities.

A limited partnership fund will be a fund that is structured as a limited partnership and used for managing investments for the benefit of its investors. A limited partnership fund is not a legal person.

In order for a fund to qualify for registration as a limited partnership fund:

  1. the fund must have one general partner and at least one limited partner;
  2. the general partner must be a private company limited by shares incorporated in Hong Kong, a non-Hong Kong company registered with the Companies Registry of Hong Kong, a limited partnership (whether domestic or foreign), a limited partnership fund or an individual who is at least 18 years old;
  3. each limited partner must be an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an unincorporated body or any other entity;
  4. the fund must be constituted by a written agreement (i.e. limited partnership agreement);
  5. the fund must have a registered office in Hong Kong;
  6. the fund must have an investment manager appointed by the general partner to carry out the day-to-day investment management functions. The investment manager must be a Hong Kong resident over the age of 18 years, a Hong Kong company, or a non-Hong Kong company registered with the Companies Registry. A general partner meeting these criteria can appoint itself as the investment manager;
  7. the fund must have an independent auditor appointed by the general partner to audit its financial statements annually;
  8. the fund’s general partner must appoint a person (Responsible Person) to carry out anti-money laundering/counter-terrorist financing functions as stipulated under Schedule 2 to the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (Cap. 615 of Laws of Hong Kong) (AMLO) so that the limited partnership fund can meet the standards set by the Financial Action Task Force. The Responsible Person must be an authorized institution, a licensed corporation, an accounting professional or a legal professional; and
  9. if the general partner has no legal personality because it is another limited partnership fund or a non-Hong Kong limited partnership without legal personality, the limited partnership fund must have an authorized representative with a legal personality to be responsible for the management and control of the limited partnership fund. Only the following persons can be an authorized representative:
    • a Hong Kong resident who is at least 18 years old;
    • a company; or
    • a registered non-Hong Kong company

An application must be submitted by a registered Hong Kong law firm or a solicitor admitted to practise Hong Kong law in Hong Kong on behalf of the fund. The application must contain the following documents/information and a fee at a specified amount –

  1. the proposed name of the LPF;
  2. the name, address, identification number and signature of the proposed general partner;
  3. the proposed address of the registered office of the LPF in Hong Kong;
  4. the proposed investment scope and proposed principal place of business of the LPF;
  5. the name and identification number of the proposed investment manager;
  6. the name and identification number of the proposed responsible person;
  7. a declaration and undertaking from the proposed general partner that the fund is intended to be set up as a limited partnership fund and meets the eligibility requirements, together with an acknowledgement that it is an offence to make a false, misleading or deceptive statement; and
  8. the name and contact information of the law firm/solicitor submitting the application.

To cater for the operational needs of PE funds, an LPF will have freedom of contract in respect of the operation of the LPF subject to the provisions of the Ordinance. These cover admission and withdrawal of partners, organisation and governance of the LPF, investment scope and strategy of the LPF, the rights and obligations of partners, financial arrangements among the partners, custodial arrangement, etc.

Like other funds operating in Hong Kong, a limited partnership fund meeting the definition of “fund” under section 20AM of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112 of Laws of Hong Kong) (IRO), and subject to certain exemption conditions set out in the Inland Revenue Ordinance, will be exempt from profits tax on transactions in qualifying assets specified in Schedule 16C to the Inland Revenue Ordinance and transactions incidental to the carrying on of qualifying transactions. As regards stamp duty, it is intended that the arrangements that apply to limited partnerships will apply to limited partnership funds. An interest in a limited partnership fund is not a share, stock, debenture, loan stock, fund, bond or note issued by the limited partnership fund, nor is it a unit under a unit trust scheme. It does not fall within the definition of “stock” under section 2 of the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117 of Laws of Hong Kong). Accordingly, an instrument under which an interest in a limited partnership fund is contributed/transferred/withdrawn is not chargeable to stamp duty. However, a limited partnership fund may accept capital contributions in cash or in kind as provided in its limited partnership agreement. In-kind capital contributions in relation to the transfer of dutiable assets (such as Hong Kong stock or immovable property) will be subject to stamp duty. The distribution of profits and assets of a limited partnership fund to the limited partner(s) will also be permitted in accordance with the terms of the limited partnership agreement. Transfer of dutiable assets by a limited partnership fund to a limited partner will be subject to stamp duty.

Sycamore Legal and SimplifyLaw are experienced in assisting clients to set up funds in Hong Kong, Australia and elsewhere. Please contact us for more information at enquiry@sycamorelegal.com.au or enquiry@simplify-law.com .

Share and Enjoy !

0Shares
0 0
Share

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
*
*